Pardons & Record Restrictions

Can I bow-hunt even if I do not receive a pardon or restoration of rights? Yes, you may bow-hunt without a pardon or restoration of rights.

Is a muzzle loader considered a firearm? Yes, a muzzle loader is considered a firearm.

Do I have to apply with the Parole Board to restore my right to vote? No,  you do not have to apply to restore your right to vote. Your right to  vote is automatically restored upon termination of your  sentence. However, you must re-register with your local county  registrar’s office in your county of residence. To find your local  registrar’s office, visit this site:

Do I need to apply with the Parole Board to restore my right to sit on a jury? Yes, you must apply for a restoration of rights in order to sit on a jury.

What is a Record Restriction?

 O.C.G.A. § 35-3-37(d) (1) allows for the restriction of arrest  charges  when certain conditions are  met (as outlined in this statute). If approved by an appropriate  prosecutor, the arrest cycle is sealed on the Georgia criminal history report by GCIC. Access to that arrest information is restricted to criminal justice agencies only.

The following are examples of final court dispositions that may qualify: 

*Nolle Prossed                                *Sentenced under 16-13-2(sentence completed)

*Not Guilty/Acquitted                       *Pre-Trial Diversion (sentence completed)

*No Further Action Anticipated        *Conditional Discharge (sentence completed)

*Dismissed                                      *Not forwarded for prosecution        

*No Bill (two required)                     *Not Presented to Grand Jury 

*Dead Docket                                 *Drug or Mental Health Program (sentence completed)

It is recommended that you review a copy of your criminal  history, prior to submitting the Request to Restrict Record, to ensure  that all charges have a final disposition listed and the disposition may  qualify for restriction.  If a disposition is missing or incorrect,  please contact the appropriate court; the court may transmit the  disposition on-line.

Effective July 1, 2013 the procedures for having records restricted is:

If your arrest date is prior to July 1, 2013, then you must complete the first page of the GCIC Record Restriction form attached.  It must be turned into the Walker County Sheriff’s Office reception area Monday through Friday between the hours of 8:00AM and 5:00 PM (excluding holidays) along with the required fee of $20.00 payable by money order, cashier’s check or cash.  You will be notified once the packet has been completed.  Once you pick the paperwork up, you will be required to mail them along with a $25.00 money order to the Georgia Crime Information Center (GCIC). 

Restrict Arrest Record Instructions and Request

If your arrest date is July 1, 2013 or later, you will need to contact the prosecuting attorney’s office or state solicitor’s office that handled the case.  If approved, the prosecuting attorney’s office or state solicitor’s office shall restrict the record through the Georgia Crime Information Center System. 


Once the record has been restricted, you will receive notification that the process has been completed.   The process could take up to 6 weeks to complete. 

Page 2 of 2 | Previous page

Leave a comment